EU-NN Board

Prof. Geert Mayer, President
Foto Mayer

Geert Mayer is Associate Professor in Neurology at the Philipps University in Marburg/Germany and the director of the Hephata Klinik in Schwalmstadt-Treysa/Germany. He has graduated from the Georg-August University in Göttingen/Germany where he also did his doctorate and habilitation. He specialized in psychiatry, psychotherapy and neurology. In the past 25 years he has worked in the field of sleep disorders. He owns degrees in German and European sleep medicine, epilepsy and EEG. He is a member of several national and international scientific societies. Dr. Mayer is the head of the “Task Force Polysomnography” for the German Society for Neurophysiology and Imaging, the head of the “Task Force Sleep Medicine” of the German Neurological Society. He has been the president of the German Sleep Society until 2012.He has been a founder of the European Narcolepsy Network and currently is the president. He has also been a founder of the “International RBD Study Group” for which he served as a secretary for one term. He has also served as the head of the “Clinical Committee” of the European Sleep Research Society for several years.
Dr. Mayer has published many articles in peer reviewed scientific journals and books and is a frequent speaker at national and international scientific meetings

Prof. Gert Jan Lammers, Vice President
pasfoto kleur 2004
Gert Jan Lammers is Associate Professor in Neurology at the Leiden University Medical Center and Director of the Sleep-Wake Centre SEIN Heemstede in the Netherlands. After having gained his medical degree in Groningen, he specialized in Neurology and Clinical Neurophysiology in Leiden. His scientific work focuses on hypersomnia, and particularly narcolepsy: the phenotype, diagnostic criteria, the pathophysiology, endocrine and autonomic aspects, and treatment. More recently also on vigilance: the relation between disturbed sleep and impaired vigilance, and the development and validation of easy to apply vigilance tests. Dr Lammers is member of several national and international scientific societies. He is the Dutch representative for the Sleep Section of the European Federation of Neurological Societies (EFNS), chair of the Post-Graduate Education in Sleep Medicine Committee of the Dutch Society for Sleep-Wake Research (NSWO), and board member of the Sleep Committee of the Dutch Neurological Society. He has published extensively in numerous peer reviewed journals, and is a frequent speaker at national and international sleep meetings.

Prof. Markku Partinen, Treasurer
Markku Partinen-1
Professor Markku Partinen, MD, PhD, is currently Director of the Helsinki Sleep Clinic, Vitalmed Research Centre, and Principal Investigator of Sleep Research at Institute of Clinical Medicine, University of Helsinki, Finland. He is leading the Nordic studies related to the H1N1 pandemic influenza and narcolepsy in the Nordic countries. He became interested in sleep research while studying medicine at the University of Montpellier, France. He obtained his medical degree (DrMed) from Montpellier in 1976 (Supervisor Prof Pierre Passouant). He received his PhD in 1982 (epidemiology of sleep disorders), and degree of a specialist in neurology in 1982, in Helsinki, Finland. He has worked as a postdoc researcher at Stanford University, USA in 1985-86 and in Bologna, Italy in 1987. In addition he has had several shorter visits as visiting researchers or visiting Professor at different Universities in Europe. His main interests in sleep medicine and sleep researcher have been sleep apnea, narcolepsy, parasomnias, restless legs, driving and sleep, and development of new methods to study sleep. He has published more than 300 International articles in peer reviewed Journals in addition to writing many book Chapters and editing several books. His Hirsch factor (H-factor) is 51 in ISI Web of Sciences and 53 in Scopus. He has served in the Editorial Boards and as Assistant Editor in Sleep, Journal of Sleep Research and Sleep Medicine. He is the founder and past President of the Finnish Sleep Research Society (1988) and Finnish Sleep Federation (1998). He has been a member of the ESRS since 1978. He is also a long-term member of the SRS, AASM and WASM. He has had many International positions in different research societies including Member of the Scientific Board and Vice-President of the European Sleep Research Society (ESRS), President of the Scandinavian Sleep Research Society, President Elect and President of the World Association of Sleep Medicine (WASM), Coordinating Secretary of the World Federation of Sleep Research Societies (WFSRS) and President and Member of the Board of the Scandinavian Sleep Research Society. He has been President of the ESRS congress in 1992 (Helsinki), the World Congress of Sleep Apnea in 2003 (Helsinki), and the WASM congress in 2007 (Bangkok). In addition he has organized several smaller meeting and symposia in the field of narcolepsy and different sleep disorders. Currently he is a Member of the Board in the ESRS EU-Narcolepsy Network (EU-NN) and Chair of Scientific Board of the EU-NN

Dr. Renata L Riha, Secretary
Renata L Riha is a consultant in Sleep and Respiratory Medicine at the Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh and an Honorary Reader at the University of Edinburgh, Scotland. She qualified in medicine at the University of Queensland and completed her specialist training in respiratory and sleep medicine in Australia. She is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians Edinburgh where she also did her MD with Professor Sir Neil Douglas. To date she has published over 50 original papers in sleep medicine with a strong focus on clinical research. She is a member of the ESADA group and secretary of the EU-NN, and has been Chair of the Sleep and Breathing Group, ERS since 2012, co-Chair of the Scientific Committee ESRS and a member of the HERMES taskforce in sleep medicine since 2009. She runs the Edinburgh Sleep Medicine Course, which she founded in 2006. She has a strong interest in education. She is a member of the editorial board of Sleep and is an associate editor of the Journal of Sleep Research.

Dr. Rosa Peraita Adrados, Member at large
Rosa Peraita Bay Rose
Dr. Rosa Peraita-Adrados is a clinical neurophysiologist head of the Sleep Disorders and Epilepsy Unit, Clinical Neurophysiology Department at the Gregorio Marañón University Hospital in Madrid.
After her residency in Clinical Neurophysiology, was trained in sleep pathology in the Sleep Disorders Clinic&Laboratory, Department pf Psychiatry at Stanford University (1975-76) and at the INSERM U29 Port-Royal Hospital, Paris (1976-77). She has also worked in the “Centre Saint-Paul”, Aix-Marseille University (1977), and at the Neurological Institute of Montreal (1994), where she completed her clinical and neurophysiological training in Epilepsy. Dr. Peraita-Adrados has authored numerous works on the physiology and pathology of sleep and epilepsy, in infants, children and adults, and she has been involved in numerous clinical research projects (SIDS, Sleep and Epilepsy, OSA, and Narcolepsy). Co-founder of the Iberian Association of Sleep Pathology (1991), she has served as President (1998-2003). She is a member of the IPSA, the European Sleep Research Society and has served as a member of the Scientific Committee (2002-2006). At the present she is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the Spanish Revista de Neurología and co-director of the Master online, Sleep: Physiology and Medicine (9th edition). She has joined as full member the European Narcolepsy Network (EU-NN) (2009), and she has served as secretary of the board.